Critical Development

Language design, framework development, UI design, robotics and more.

Linguistics, Language Creation, and Old Papers

Posted by Dan Vanderboom on December 10, 2007

I’ve always been interested in linguistics and languages, and have spent several years studying it as a hobby (a very time consuming hobby).  When I was younger, I worked very hard to invent my own language.  First it was word lists, then it was a collection of grammar ideas, and I even designed my own glyphs for a writing system that was phonetic (and occassionally syllabic).

While I was still in high school (going back to 1991), I wrote a short paper on the subject of creating a language.  Way back then, the Internet was mainly a curiosity accessible to college students.  The rest of the world, myself included, went online by dialing up Bulliten Board Systems (BBSs) with 2400 bps modems (or worse).  I published this paper on some of the BBSs at the time, and haven’t thought about it since.

To my amusement, a friend of mine Googled me the other day and found it.  It’s survived to this day, and can be found on websites all over, especially in non-English-speaking countries.  Here’s an English site that hosts it:

http://www.langmaker.com/langcreation.htm

Apparently, it’s being used for purposes other than creating new languages.  On Russian websites, people are referencing it to learn simple English grammar.

I even found a mention of my paper on a site where someone had created their own language.

http://grycsroom.furtopia.org/tarspek/

How neat is that!

That paper was very simple.  I was young and hadn’t yet learned about the crazy complexities of grammar.  But simple is good, and I’m glad it’s found a use.

Leave a Reply

 
