Critical Development

Language design, framework development, UI design, robotics and more.

Invention-A-Day: Ketchup-And-Mustard-In-One Bottle

Posted by Dan Vanderboom on December 17, 2007

I used to do something called Invention-A-Day, where’d I come up with at least one new gadget, service, business idea, etc., every day.  I’ve been slacking for a few months, but one came to me today.  It’s a ketchup-and-mustard-in-one bottle.  Two compartments for the two liquids, two nozzles, and some ability to open or close each valve.  With both nozzles pointing toward a center point, you could apply both condiments at the same time to your hamburger or brat.

The great thing about Invention-A-Day is that it requires no obligation to implement your idea, and it therefore becomes a fun game that loosens up the mind and encourages creativity.  As long as you believe your its original, your idea is good.  I can’t count the number of inventions I’ve made where I found out later they already existed.  In fact, that’s how I found my fretlight guitar.  After inventing it, I guessed that it would be such a great idea that someone had to have invented it already.  I was right, and a good thing, too!

Another advantage is that it gives you practice with design.  The more fun or exciting your idea is, the more likely you’ll pursue thinking about it, figure out how it would work, speculate about the obstacles, and so on.  Try it!  You might enjoy it!

Oh, and if you ever find one of my inventions out there already, post a comment and tell me about it.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Invention-A-Day: Ketchup-And-Mustard-In-One Bottle”

  1. clr said

    Have you made the ketchup and mustard bottle yet? Or do you know anyone who has?

  2. Dan Vanderboom said

    I actually saw this product in a grocery store a few months ago. It was a single nozzle with the ketchup and mustard premixed. Not sure who made it, I just chuckled when I saw it and kept going. If I see it again, I’ll take a closer look.

  3. Kramer said

    See Seinfeld- Kramerica industries were working on this one years ago

  4. d-dog said

    if haven’t seen them. Is there a patent holder?
    anyone know “I got a lot of hotdogs here”

Leave a comment